Maya Angelou

Written for:  Poets United Midweek Motif ~ A Woman’s Day
This Sunday, March 8th is International Women’s Day.
Your Challenge:  Let your poem show how a woman is special.   

From a poor young girl,
she grew to a woman, rich
in voice of a songbird, legs
of a graceful dancer, a presence
on the stage, a clear-spoken
powerhouse of words. She may
not have dreamed of winning
a Pulitzer, or even becoming
famous. I was lucky, saw one
of her last performances.
In my mind, I still picture
that woman of courage,
speaking of her chilling childhood,
and singing, This Little Light
of Mine. She was a far-
reaching beacon to many.
May her light continue to glow.

http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are now back in New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Maya Angelou

  1. C.C. says:

    Definitely a woman to honor! Must have been quite something to see one of her last performances.

    Like

  2. Susan says:

    Oh it will glow, containing all of those layers and an inspiration to all. She glows not only from her own work, but from this poem. Thank you!

    Like

  3. Sumana Roy says:

    a beautiful tribute Sara…

    Like

  4. Beautiful poem for a powerful woman…one of my favorites. ♥

    Like

  5. I think she would feel honoured by your lovely words. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Susmit says:

    A nice tribute…

    Like

  7. Myrna says:

    Wonderful woman to honor in your poem. She would be happy to read this.

    Like

  8. Sherry Marr says:

    What an amazing personage she was……I suspect because her mother thought she was wonderful, so Maya never doubted it for a moment. Sara, would you please email me at wildwoman2@shaw.ca? I have something to ask you. Thanks, kiddo.

    Like

Comments are closed.