One Kind of Love

One Kind of Love

‘Please don’t press charges,
darlin’, I swear I will never
hit you again.’ Two cops stand
in the doorway. She sits
on the couch, blood leaking
from her nose, one eye
beginning to swell. ‘Hell,’ he says,
‘look, I’m gettin’ down on my knees,
baby–beggin’, beggin’. You know
I love you.’

‘Ma’am?’ The cops look from one
to the other. Domestic violence,
the worst. You can count on
one hand, the number of abused
women who actually follow
through. Shame, too, because
these guys never stop. Not for long.

And there it is–a tiny curvature
of her lips. She looks down
at him on the floor. She shows
the cops the door.

Written for Poetic Asides/ April 2014 Challenge
Day 15
Write a love and/or anti-love poem.

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York, though I now embrace the Pacific Northwest as home, residing with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Kind of Love

  1. Myrna Zach says:

    and the beat goes on

    Like

Comments are closed.