Unicorn in Coney Island

Walking on these planks
of wood, is making me nervous.
Sauntering through meadows
is easier on the hoofs.  My horn
is baking in this hot sun, but
no one else seems to mind
the heat.  I hope she does not
ask me to go down to that sandy
stuff.  My legs are famous for
their delicate shape, and prancing
ability.  What could she like
about this place?  The noise
vibrates my ears.  People are
yelling, different kinds of music
plays all at the same time,
and don’t even get me started
on those demeaning rides.
I do smell some different kinds
of food, and while I am sated
on soft blades of grass,
I might make an exception
for a knish.

 

Written for http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/
Take a real or imaginary animal to a place you are not in every day.
Tell the story from the animal’s point of view.

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York, though I now embrace the Pacific Northwest as home, residing with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Unicorn in Coney Island

  1. Oh, a unicorn. I’m glad someone thought of that. This is so cool!

    Like

  2. I miss the knishes, the people’s food really, my time in New York… Was there a poem called the “Coney Island of My Mind” ? I never visited there but have seen it thru unicorn eyes many times.

    Like

  3. Jim says:

    I’m ready for the knish. Or a Nathan’s hot dog.
    This was pleasant reading and brought memories.
    Your Unicorn was not pleased there, I feel sorry for him.
    His female friend was having not problems.
    She must have found the food.

    Like

  4. Well, that is pretty cool – a unicorn in Coney Island. Love the last line!! Clever.

    Like

  5. Kay Davies says:

    Love this! “Might make an exception for a knish” — I can relate to that.
    K

    Like

  6. peggygoetz says:

    How fun!! Love the idea of a unicorn on Coney Island boardwalk! thanks for posting

    Like

  7. Coney Island has seen many things, but I doubt it has seen a unicorn. Love your take on the prompt.

    Like

  8. vandana says:

    This is lovely

    Like

  9. Margaret says:

    Now that would be a sight!

    Like

  10. Awww, the unicorn was offended by the merry go round! So Very clever how you added that in there! Thanks for sticking up for the unicorn :)

    Like

  11. Unicorn is a legendary animal, symbol of purity and grace, beautiful choice!

    Like

Comments are closed.